Airport Blues

Here is a situation that seems reasonably likely !

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

 

Read a book ?

It’s a bit of a cliche perhaps, but I usually carry a (paper) book with me, so that I won’t have to visit those awful airport bookshops with their terrible collections and their frankly devilish prices. In this manner I would be pretty good to go for at least a couple of hours. Six hours, of course – it’s likely that few books would engage their readers for six hours. (Note to self: Carry some thin, yet extremely abstruse and detailed book with oneself next time one travels).

Assuming that I have some hours left over, then, I’d probably get up, stretch, and walk the length of the airport (being careful to Please Do Not Leave Your Baggage Unattended, of course). Now that would probably take four hours only if the airport is question is extraordinarily large, so let’s assume that the airport in question is more reasonable and my book finished within an hour.

Well, do I have co-passengers on this flight, people who I already know a little bit ? What a perfectly-tailored opportunity to get to know them better. Of course, if they’re as reserved as moi, then we are going to have some uphill going. But usually it’s difficult to find too many introverts thrown together – so there’d definitely be *someone* in the group who’d start talking and I’d have to mostly only nod. Right ?

If that’s *not* the case, then the combination of sulky co-passengers and grim airport may be a little trying, after all. I *might* just be forced to shell out some obscene amount at a stupid bookshop for a copy of a book I don’t even want.

Of course, if the bookshop is closed as well, then maybe it’s Doodle Time again. Or perhaps I’d try to write stories about the bored and increasingly restless people around me.

If I don’t have the tiniest bit of paper either….okay, well then, I suppose I have nothing to do but brood. Or think. About nothing in particular. AAAAARGH.

Lesson: Always carry a notepad and a pencil on dubious flights ?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

